Recent Award Winners

Distinguished Public Service Award

Anthony S. Novosel
Undergraduate Advisor and Senior Lecturer, Department of History, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

Distinguished Teaching Award

Sean Garrett-Roe
Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

Melissa Marks
Associate Professor, Division of Behavioral Sciences, University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg

John Schumann
Associate Professor, Department of Neurobiology, School of Medicine

Cindy Skrzycki
Senior Lecturer, Department of English, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

Distinguished Research Award

Mark T. Gladwin
Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine

Thomas W. Kensler
Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology, School of Medicine

Ronald D. Stall
Professor, Department of Behavioral and Community Health Sciences, Graduate School of Public Health

Chancellor’s Award for Staff  

Administrative and Operational Efficiency: Katherine Von Lehman
Compliance Coordinator, University Center for International Services 

Career Achievement: Tom Heidkamp
Manager, Surplus Property

Community Engagement Award: Stephanie Fiely
Director of Student Life, University of Pittsburgh at Titusville

Diversity and Inclusion: Crystal McCormick
Director of Diversity Initiatives, University of Pittsburgh Library System

Early Impact Award: Misti McKeehen
Director, Office of PittServes

Excellent Mentor Award: Sarah Wagner
Director of Vira I. Heinz Program, University Center for International Studies

Research Support Award: Elizabeth Hartigan
Clinical Research Manager, Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC

Service Award: Heather Camp
Community Relations Officer, Department of Public Safety

Student Impact Award: Patrick Mullen
Director, Office of Undergraduate Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity

University Engagement Award: Lindsay Rodzwicz
Coulter Program Manager, Swanson School of Engineering



Center for Urban Education

Innovation Commercialization Funds

Thermoresponsive Hydrogel for Orbital Volume Augmentation

Morgan Fedorchak
Assistant Professor in the departments of Ophthalmology, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, and the Clinical and Translational Science Institute

Jenny Yu
Assistant Professor and Vice Chair, Clinical Operations, Department of Ophthalmology

BodyExplorer: Autonomous Simulated Patient

Douglas Nelson Jr. 
Doctoral candidate in the Department of Bioengineering

John O’Donnell
Professor and Chair of the Department of Nurse Anesthesia Program

Joseph Samosky
Assistant Professor in the Department of Bioengineering

Nano-LED Technology for Microdisplays

Hong Koo Kim
Bell of Pennsylvania/Bell Atlantic Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Daud Hasan Emon 
Doctoral Student, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Reactive Extraction of Water: Desalination without Membranes or Distillation

Eric Beckman
Distinguished Service Professor of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering